No te preocupes, bro

They say everything happens for a reason, and they are right.  Over the last month or so I have been having the time of my life, but also flooded by compassionate emails regarding my situation = solo female traveler in a dangerous part of the world.

I think I scared him away with my hairiness!

At first, this influx of concern worried me: What was I going to do? Would I be able to make it? Do I have the smarts not to end up trapped in the sex trade or dead in a random drive-by -shooting? Lets be honest, it did scare me that the Batman premier massacre in Colorado didn’t even stand out in the Guatemalan paper as out of place at all.

But then, what is travelling alone anyway? No one else travels on the buses, the tourist shuttles? The trick is to travel alone without travelling…

View original post 271 more words

